Bilkent University Department of Chemistry seeks to provide an interesting and challenging environment in which its students can explore the materials that make up our world, fine-tune their critical thinking and logical problem-solving skills, and discover more about chemistry and about the relationships between chemistry and other sciences and the world at large.

"Prof. Süzer hosts Biggest Surface Science Event in Europe"

Surface science is an interdisciplinary field that melts together physics, chemistry, biology, materials science, nanotechnology and electronics as well as mechanical and chemical engineering in a single pot. One of the biggest global events in surface science (and the biggest such event in Europe), the 30th European Conference on Surface Science (ECOSS-30, www.ecoss30.org) was recently held in Antalya, Turkey, from August 31 to September 5. ECOSS-30 was chaired by Prof. Şefik Süzer of the Bilkent University Department of Chemistry and hosted numerous leading figures in academic and industrial surface science research.
For more information (Click)

Bilkent University Faculty of Science Webmasters Contact
Showcasing research from the surface-science laboratory of
Dr Şefik Süzer

XPS enables visualization of electrode potential screening in an ionic-liquid medium with temporal- and lateral- resolution (Link)

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 was awarded jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines"

Prof. Akkaya's work describing a selective photodynamic sensitizer
is on the front cover of Angewandte Chemie.

Prof. Engin Umut Akkaya has been named a fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC).
Dr. Bilge Baytekin received the prestigious UNESCO-L’Oreal Award
for 2015

Dr. Emrah Özensoy has been awarded the TÜBİTAK Incentive Award for 2014.

Dr. Emrah Ozensoy has been
named as one of the recipients
of the Distinguished Teacher of
the Year Awards for 2014
Prof. Şefik Süzer has been named
a fellow of the American Vacuum